About IEEE Delhi Section

The IEEE Delhi section is one of the largest and most active sections in the Asia-Pacific Region (Region 10) of IEEE. Ever since its inception, the Section has worked tirelessly to proliferate, support, and amplify innovations in the field of STEM.

The formation of the IEEE Delhi section took place on May 13, 1976 (after remaining as a sub-section since 1974). The IEEE Delhi section covers the entire northern part of the country, which consists of four states (Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab, and Himachal Pradesh) and four union territories (the National Capital Territory of Delhi; the Union Territories of Chandigarh, Jammu & Kashmir, and Ladakh). The IEEE Delhi section has more than 4,500 active members, making it one of the key sections in the IEEE region R-10.

Over the years, the activities of the IEEE Delhi Section have increased manifold and spread through many cities and state capitals under the Section. Several technical society chapters and many student branches have been formed. Currently, the section has twenty-three chapters and four affinity groups. There are two subsections of the IEEE Delhi Section, namely Chandigarh subsection and Rajasthan subsection. The section maintains a healthy student-to-member ratio and works closely and coherently with its chapters and affinity groups not only in technical, education, and membership development activities but also in outreach activities, which are a major focus of the section.